Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council Updated:06/2023

The Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council is one of eight US Regional Fishery Management Councils established by the Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976.

  • Manages fishery resources in the federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico
  • Prepares fishery management plans (FMPs) and makes recommendations by balancing competing interests
  • Uses scientific advice from NOAA Fisheries and public opinion to inform FMP recommendations
  • Aims to achieve the greatest overall benefit to the nation by sustaining and maintaining responsible fisheries management
  • Stays consistent with the ten national standards laid out by the Magnuson Stevens Act
  • Specifically manages reef fish, shrimp, spiny lobster, coastal migratory pelagics, corals, essential fish habitat, red drum, and aquaculture

Contact Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of TexasLandCAN.
Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council is not employed by or affiliated with the Texas Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council

Doug Gregory
Executive Director
2203 N Lois Avenue
Suite 1100
Tampa, FL  33607
Phone: 813-348-1630 X230
Toll Free: 888-833-1844
Fax: 813-348-1711

Service Area

Statewide service provider in:
  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Texas