Texas Forest Legacy Program Updated:01/2021

The Forest Legacy Program is a voluntary cooperative effort between the U.S. Forest Service and the State of Texas that protects ecologically important forests threatened by conversion to non-forest uses. The program encourages the voluntary protection of privately owned forestland primarily through the acquisition of conservation easements. These easements are legally binding agreements transferring a negotiated set of property rights (primarily development rights) from one party to another without removing the property from private ownership. Most FLP conservation easements restrict development, require sustainable forestry practices and protect other values. 

The program allows the State of Texas to purchase conservation easements on forestland with the goal of keeping the land in its forested state. Landowners may continue to own their land and retain all other rights to the property, including the right to sell the property. 

The conservation easement is recorded with the property deed and transferred with the sale or transfer of the property. U.S. Forest Service funds 75 percent of the easement purchase cost and the landowner provides 25 percent. The landowner’s share may come from nonfederal sources such as a donation of part of the easement value from the landowner or a non-profit organization interested in the project.

Contact Texas Forest Legacy Program

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of TexasLandCAN.
Texas Forest Legacy Program is not employed by or affiliated with the Texas Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Texas Forest Legacy Program

Gretchen Riley
Forest Legacy Program Coordinator
200 Technology Way
Ste. 1281
College Station, TX  77845
Phone: 979-458-7373

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Anderson County, Texas
  • Angelina County, Texas
  • Bowie County, Texas
  • Cass County, Texas
  • Cherokee County, Texas
  • Delta County, Texas
  • Franklin County, Texas
  • Hardin County, Texas
  • Henderson County, Texas
  • Hopkins County, Texas
  • Houston County, Texas
  • Jasper County, Texas
  • Jefferson County, Texas
  • Lamar County, Texas
  • Liberty County, Texas
  • Montgomery County, Texas
  • Morris County, Texas
  • Nacogdoches County, Texas
  • Newton County, Texas
  • Orange County, Texas
  • Panola County, Texas
  • Polk County, Texas
  • Rains County, Texas
  • Red River County, Texas
  • Rusk County, Texas
  • Sabine County, Texas
  • San Augustine County, Texas
  • San Jacinto County, Texas
  • Shelby County, Texas
  • Smith County, Texas
  • Titus County, Texas
  • Trinity County, Texas
  • Tyler County, Texas
  • Upshur County, Texas
  • Van Zandt County, Texas
  • Walker County, Texas
  • Wood County, Texas