Texas Longleaf Pine Initiative Updated:03/2023

The Longleaf Pine initiative will incorporate both technical and financial assistance to help landowners in Texas improve habitat on agricultural land, nonindustrial private forest and Tribal land.

Approved participants will receive financial assistance for implementing conservation practices including planting longleaf pine, installing firebreaks, conducting prescribed burning and controlling invasive plants. Landowners can apply at their local NRCS office in the USDA Service Center.

Through LLPI, NRCS works with producers on private lands in nine states to improve the sustainability and profitability of longleaf pine forest ecosystems. NRCS provides technical and financial assistance to producers, helping them implement a variety of conservation practices. These practices enable landowners to improve forests, use prescribed burning and plant trees.

LLPI targets efforts in priority counties because of their value in connecting existing longleaf landscapes, providing better habitat and generating more environmental benefits, like cleaner air and water, because of the forests’ larger footprints. These are usually located in the vicinity of a military installation, a national forest, national wildlife refuge, state forest or heritage reserve.

Contact Texas Longleaf Pine Initiative

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of TexasLandCAN.
Texas Longleaf Pine Initiative is not employed by or affiliated with the Texas Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Texas Longleaf Pine Initiative

101 South Main Street
Temple, TX  76501
Phone: (936) 564-4873, Ext 3

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Anderson County, Texas
  • Angelina County, Texas
  • Cherokee County, Texas
  • Hardin County, Texas
  • Houston County, Texas
  • Jasper County, Texas
  • Liberty County, Texas
  • Montgomery County, Texas
  • Nacogdoches County, Texas
  • Newton County, Texas
  • Polk County, Texas
  • Sabine County, Texas
  • San Augustine County, Texas
  • San Jacinto County, Texas
  • Shelby County, Texas
  • Trinity County, Texas
  • Tyler County, Texas
  • Walker County, Texas